YATES CITY POLICE

102 W. MAIN STREET P.O. BOX 364 YATES CITY, ILLINOIS 61572

The Yates City Police Department is a part time police department dedicated to providing the citizens of Yates City with professional police service through enforcement of existing laws and ordinances, providing security and safety and being active in community events.

The Village of Yates City was founded in 1857, and incorporated in 1869. The first Village Marshall appointed was W.L. Adams, and the First Village Magistrate was David Wiltse. Since that time the Village of Yates City has maintained their own Police Department.

Currently the Yates City Police Department consists of the Chief of Police, a Sergeant of Patrol and six additional part time officers. These officers represent over 175 years of police experience and have extensive training in a number of area including Paramedic, Incident Command and Emergency Operations, DARE, Tactical and Firearms training, Crime Scene processing and latent fingerprint identification, and DUI enforcement.

The officers and staff of the Yates City Police Department are proud and honored to serve their community to help maintain a safe and peaceful environment.

Randy Benson Chief of Police